Book of Hours – Core gameplay mechanics overview

Book of Hours – Core gameplay mechanics overview 1 -
Book of Hours – Core gameplay mechanics overview 1 -

Welcome to this post We will discuss the Book of Hours – Core gameplay mechanics overview in this post, and we sincerely hope you will find it helpful.

This useful guide describes the primary loop of the gameplay and can point you in the right direction if you are stuck in an early game.

View the full article.

Book of Hours has a confusing interface at first. It’s possible to get stuck when you arrive at the house or after you leave the beach. This guide aims at giving you a general overview (without spoilers) of the game’s mechanics. It should equip you with the knowledge you need to unstick yourself anytime.


This is what drives the game. Every aspect (or multiple aspects) of the game is important. There are 13 total, listed in alphabetical order below:

  • Edge
  • Forge
  • Grail
  • Heart
  • Knock
  • Lantern
  • Moon
  • Moth
  • Nectar
  • Rose
  • Scale
  • Sky
  • Winter

The game’s progression is primarily based on getting “enough”, either through crafting or by reading.

Soul, Memory, and Skill are the core mechanics of the game.

The core gameplay mechanic of this title revolves around getting enough of a certain aspect on three cards – memory, skill or soul. You must combine both cards in crafting and reading to get enough of a certain aspect to advance. For crafting, you must combine 5, 10 or even 15 of one aspect. This is based on the mystery level of a book.


They are the “elements in the soul” with which you begin the game. These are in the second menu at the bottom. You should be able to get 1-3 different types of sand just by making it back from the beach. There are nine different types, and you will unlock them all by progressing along the tree. It would be best to use them for all your daily activities, which will tire them. They’ll be restored by daybreak.

Note that each soul has its unique aspect. Some actions are picky and will only accept certain aspects.

You can combine souls with the same type in the future when you upgrade your workbenches.


You can find them on the third icon at the bottom. You should unlock two of them after reading and drying the journal. There are many different types, and you will use them to advance on your tree of wisdom.

Each skill also has a different aspect! You can increase the level of your skills by selecting at least one memory and one lesson that have matching aspects.


Memories can be the most difficult part of the trinity to acquire initially. You will get memories for many different actions. But many actions can’t be repeated and memories are lost at the end the day. So that’s not a practical way to progress. You will also receive a weather report at the beginning each day, which can serve as a good memory.

Memories also have other aspects!

Re-reading a novel is the best way to recall a specific aspect. The same book always gives you the same memories if you reread it. You can record the memory you got from the book or refer to other guides.

Gameplay loop – Explore, Read Craft Improve

There are basically four ways to advance in the game. Each one feeds back into the others. If you find yourself stuck in early games, it’s likely because you haven’t explored all of the axes or not progressed far enough.


The first thing that you should do is to unlock as many rooms as possible. Unlock as much as possible as quickly as possible. To unlock a specific room, you will need an assistant with the required aspects. Opening the rooms should be simple until you get to those that require 6 or even more of a particular aspect.

To unlock rooms, you will need assistance. You can get this from the town, your friends, or the pub. You can check other guides for more details on which assistance gives which aspect. Talk to them with either a spirit or memory to give them the aspects of their soul or memory. They can accept as many as one of each.

“Basic” support from around the town usually only has level 1-2 aspects, whereas Unusual support from the bar usually has 3 levels 4 aspects. You can get uncommon assistance by giving your soul and money. Usually, you’ll have to pay for service. If you want more money, wait until the end the year to receive your annual allowance. Or, work at the local pub (provide only soul).

Exploring rooms gives access to

  • Items such as furniture and inks. You can also use them for other crafts
  • Uncatalogued books
  • Workstations have different uses depending on their type. They all allow for crafting. Beds are subtypes of workstations that allow you cure maladies. Desks, another subtype of workstations, allow you read and write.
  • Explore more unexplored areas


Read the article

In the early part of the game, you will spend 50% of your time cataloging books. To read a text, you first have to catalog it. You can do this with any soul as long as it matches the desk. Cataloging is done with “Consider” or at any desk. You can catalog multiple desks at the same time.

The book will require a certain amount of mystery, so you’ll need to combine souls, skills, and memories. For books that have mystery 4, this is easy, as most souls or skills will have one or two of the required aspects. You can then wait for a day when the weather or memory matches the book. As you advance, you will accumulate a collection of memories. These can be retrieved by rereading a book.

Reading teaches (only if it’s the first time) and leaves you with memories. If you don’t have the skill yet, you can turn it into one by using the lesson. If you have the skill already, you can use that lesson to help you level up another one.

You should first read all the mysteries 4 books to get a good range of skills. Then move on to mystery 6.


I’m still learning about crafting. I know that crafting is linked to the skill. You will always get what you want if you use different souls, memories or other items but the same skill.

Crafting can provide you with memories or other items that require higher skill levels.

If you are more knowledgeable about crafting, then please leave a message below!

The following are ways to improve your experience

Once you master reading, you can use the skills and lessons you unlock to progress along the tree of wisdom and level up your abilities. You can then use these committed skills and specific stations to evolve your spirit. After you have upgraded your skills and souls, you can read higher mystery novels, giving you better memories. This is Book of Hours’ core gameplay loop.

We hope our Book of Hours – Core gameplay mechanics overview guide was informative and enjoyable. If you find any mistakes or have suggestions for improving this post, please share them with us in the comments below. Kind regards, and I hope you enjoy the rest of this lovely day! Quilker, the author and originator of this post, is to thank for the inspiration. Also, if you like the post, don’t forget to add this website to your bookmarks; we publish new posts every day with additional material, so be sure to check back with this website on a regular basis for more posts.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.